Should I get a name brand TV or a bigger budget brand one? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Should I get a name brand TV or a bigger budget brand one?

LoneRonin

So my HP 22" monitor in my room crapped out and I need something new for PS3 and movies. At my price range I can get a 32" name brand, will likely go with a Sony or I can get a 40-42" from Dynex/Insignia or something like that. I have no experience with TVs other than Sony which have been bulletproof.
I took apart my HP monitor to try and fix it and saw that the display panel was from LG/Philips..which leads me to believe that its all the same stuff just different branding and different people putting it together, I've also heard Sony and Samsung use the same panels. So does anyone have any idea with what type of quality I can expect from the budget brands?
If I go with them I can get a 40-42" with 1080p whereas the 32" is 720p but I've also got a feeling any bigger than 32" will be too big for my room anyways.

both my kids have 32" dynex 1080p, (BestBuy Christmas sale) TV's in their rooms. They have been ok after 2 yrs and they are "on" often enough.
your mileage may vary.

Look into Vizio.. Typically cheaper than the big boys, but a very nice product. Only had mine for about a year but it's given me absolutely zero issues, which is more than I can say about the LG that I used to have.

If you don't care about picture quality, just go with a big no-name. If it lasts for 2-3 years, then it will pay for itself anyway.

Picked up a Vizio awhile back from Tiger Direct on clearance. No problems with it but I have noticed the audio quality on the no names sounds a bit on the "tinny"side. If you're running audio through a stereo then nevermind....

The LG we bought from Costco lasted about 3 months before the sound went out. Got money back and picked up a better LG that was on sale at Future Shop. Been 3 years now and no issues with that one.

If you remember the old GoldStar brand, thats the new LG.