Buying first bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

Buying first bike

L

Lc86

Hey guys,

New to the forum. 34 year old woman. I’m 90% sure I’ll be buying my very first bike tomorrow and was wondering of any helpful tips of things to look for on the bike when I go take a look at it tomorrow? I know I need to check to see if the vin matches, leaks, etc etc the bike looks like it’s literally STOCK. It’s a 2002 Suzuki savage s40 650cc. Really beautiful little bike with 3000km on the engine. It’s mint condition. Pretty sure nothing will be wrong with it but I’m not experienced in purchasing bikes— this is my first, so was just wondering of what I should look for and be concerned about?

Sent from my iPhone using GTAMotorcycle.com mobile app

Tires
Chain
Sprockets
Scratch scraps dents
Seat rips
Lights working
Engine runs as should, not making weird noises

Are you able to ride it? A lot of major mechanical issues can only be discovered on a test ride, clutch, suspension, alignment/tracking issues, etc. These are all potentially high $$ fixes and can still be problems despite the bike being in excellent condition, cosmetically. Is there documentation of when the engine was swapped and at what mileage?

Are you able to ride it? A lot of major mechanical issues can only be discovered on a test ride, clutch, suspension, alignment/tracking issues, etc. These are all potentially high $$ fixes and can still be problems despite the bike being in excellent condition, cosmetically. Is there documentation of when the engine was swapped and at what mileage?

Probably could if I wanted to but don’t think it will be necessary to be honest(I also didn’t get my m1 yet so wouldn’t be able to but I’ll probably ask him to put it in gear and listen to what happens) owner seems honest— says it’s in perfect shape all around mechanically. Says it’s road ready, new tiers, new battery, runs perfect. The engine is original. The bike is stock.