New Rider about to buy his first bike | GTAMotorcycle.com

New Rider about to buy his first bike

BlindandSlow

Hey Everyone!

I recently got my M1 and took my riding course and am anxious to pick up a bike and start riding. I've settled on the Honda CBR250 (which seems to be a popular choice) but the ABS version won't be available until the end of the month and I'm itching to get started as soon as possible.

I'd love to get your thoughts on how critical ABS would be. As this is my first year riding I don't plan on racing across Toronto and will likely be hyper cautious keeping well behind traffic in front of me. Don't get me wrong, I'd love to have the added security of ABS, but I'd rather not have to wait 3 more weeks to actually get on the road unless it really made sense. (I'll likely upgrade within one or two seasons anyway)

This site was a great resource when I was doing some research so looking forward to getting more active on here! Look forward to hearing what everyone things.

Thanks

Since you're planning to upgrade in a season or two, have you considered getting a used bike? You can save a fair bit of cash for your next bike.

ABS isn't critical for regular street riding, you'll be pretty amazed at how much grip your tires have on the road before they slip. If its raining or you hit oil on the skids, its hard to say. Depending on how quick the ABS is, it may help. On a 110 tire with a single brake caliper on the front I have a feeling it will be hard to apply enough force to actually lock the tire at speed (depending on what kind of tires you run), on a dry surface. I ride a 08 CBR 1000RR (120 front tire) at the track and have never had an issue locking up the front on Q2's under heavy braking, which has significantly more breaking ability than the 250.