L/F Dash Cam Recommendations | GTAMotorcycle.com

L/F Dash Cam Recommendations

Katatonic

Site Supporter
I’m wanting to get a dash cam for the new truck. I’ve seen a LOT of stupid **** lately so it would be 50/50 for liability reasons and entertainment value.
Anyone have one they really like that has been reliable, good picture quality and relatively easy to use? Any dash cams I should stay away from?

I've been using a cheap Viofo A119 for a few years now and it's been good. If I had to get a new one today, I think I'd like to try out one with a rear camera.

oh and all the really crazy hijinks I used to see on the QEW stopped the second I got a dashcam

I've been using a cheap Viofo A119 for a few years now and it's been good. If I had to get a new one today, I think I'd like to try out one with a rear camera.

oh and all the really crazy hijinks I used to see on the QEW stopped the second I got a dashcam

Oddly enough, that’s the camera I’m currently looking at on Amazon, and I was just thinking “Do I want one with a rear camera…?”

@Rob MacLennan has had ideas in the past.

You need to ask yourself whether you want to see inside or not. Advantages and disadvantages to seeing driver and/or gauges. Personally, I think the front view tight to the glass (no inside) is most important as it catches most of the scammers/light runners. If I wanted rear, I would add a camera tight to rear glass. If I wanted more angles/inside, something like a 360 cam near a headrest gives some concept of things coming from every direction.

I try to mount front cameras behind the mirror (as well as transponder) so I don't block any useful windshield. Obviously that wouldn't go well with a front and rear camera.

I've been considering this as well, as I see way to much in the small amount I actually drive.
I would consider a rear camera a requirement, but to install yourself or have it installed?
Sorry if I hijacked this thread..

@Rob MacLennan has had ideas in the past.