Dual sport bikes - recommendations? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Dual sport bikes - recommendations?

Duster929

Site Supporter
This is a wide open question, so feel free to make any recommendation you think is sensible.

I'm new to off-pavement riding. I've got knobbies on my BMW GS, but I've realized that if I want to do some real dual-sport riding, I'm going to need something lighter. That being said, I still want something that's comfortable to ride and street legal, so I don't have to trailer it everywhere.

I'd like to be able to do some rallies with it, and get it beyond just gravel roads. I'm not going to be racing or jumping or anything like that, but I'd like it to be able to handle some challenging terrain.

What are my options, given those requirements. So far I've seen Honda's 650, a couple of you guys have mentioned the DRZ400. What else is in the market that has enough power to move a 200 pound adult down the highway, but not as bulky as my GS?

--- D

I assume you are looking at buying new?

The Honda 650 is a tick over 8 grand. Why not keep it in the family and get yourself a new or used F650GS, or the lessor G650GS? Both are capable bikes, have terrific on road manners, and are in the same price range as the Honda.

I assume you are looking at buying new?

The Honda 650 is a tick over 8 grand. Why not keep it in the family and get yourself a new or used F650GS, or the lessor G650GS? Both are capable bikes, have terrific on road manners, and are in the same price range as the Honda.

I don't mind going used. I'd likely be dropping the thing soon and often, so it doesn't need to be shiny and new when I get it. As long as it's well-maintained, I figure I could find something no older than 8 or 10 years that would suit my purposes. I definitely don't want to spend 8 grand. Maybe 4K? Am I being too cheap?