Recommended km before going for the M Course? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Recommended km before going for the M Course?

gt915

mSorry for another one of these threads...my search didn't come back with any answers.

Obviously there isn't a set km but is there a rule of thumb for how much riding you have done after your M2 course before you go for the M? What are the levels of riders at say learning curves, RTI, or one of these colleges on the M portion?

Timeline:
New Rider - did the M2 course in august 2016.
Never got a bike until aug 2020
Riding for a month or so pretty much 20km each day consistently (somewhat confident at speeds & turns, including some highway speeds but definitely understand I am still a newbie)

Why I wanted to do the M this year:
-Insurance, license history purpose
-In case price goes up 20 bucks or 40 bucks next season
- Off chance things are booked up or my schedule don't align
- Still aint got that many bad habits

Why I think I should wait:
- Will learn more?
- More confidence
- Full season of riding afterwards versus not using the skills in the winter

Thanks in advance

If you think you can pass the M then I would get the M asap. You should always keep learning to ride better, confidence should be kept in check. Sooner the better for getting insured (think now you need 6years for an SS).
20km is pretty good on local roads but your commitment to riding each day is to be admired. thumbs up!

The more riding you can get under your belt prior to taking the M Roadtest the better. And you'll find the test easier. It looks like you have one year to get it:
"Once you get your M2 licence, you have up to five years to finish the learning process. After five years, if you do not get your full licence, you will need to start over." - via ontario.ca

Best of luck!

mSorry for another one of these threads...my search didn't come back with any answers.