Hi everyone! Shopping for my first bike! | GTAMotorcycle.com

Hi everyone! Shopping for my first bike!

Saharasun

Hi all!

A good friend of mine put me onto this community as a good source of information about riding. I just passed my M2 course at Learning Curves, but am otherwise a total newbie to the world of motorcycles and riding.

I've already found some amazing information here, so big thanks to all the experienced riders who took the time to share some of their knowledge! This seems like a really great community, and only makes me more excited to get riding!

On that note, I could use some advice for buying my first bike... I've read the threads about buying used bikes here, but 1. Dont really know much about bikes 2. Dont have friends who know much either.

I've been looking at Kawa 400's as a bike that could bridge me from beginner to intermediate riding without switching bikes. Was wondering what thoughts were about this bike.

I was also wondering about price... I saw a 2011 in (what I think is) very good condition with 24k on it for $3,600, but for only a few hundred less than some 2018s listed with about half the clicks... wondering whether the newer ones would be worth the extra $500 for similar condition, or whether they've likely been ridden super hard for 1 year... not too sure how people roll.

Sorry for the long-winded post, but I'm pumped to get on a bike, but also dont want to start by making poor newbie decisions that might put me off.

Thanks in advance for the tips/advice! Also, if anyone is up for coming to check out bikes with me, that would be a huge help!

Welcome to the forum and to the world of motorcycle riding! Since you're a newbie, maybe start even smaller, like a 250. Should be able to find a decent model with low km for 2-2.5k or lower.