Help with identifying this outboard boat motor | GTAMotorcycle.com

Help with identifying this outboard boat motor

oioioi

Site Supporter
...please

I know it's is a Johnson 20hp outboard motor
I am looking for at least a year range or even better a model

I am new to this (boating) but I need to find some parts for it
(Seal for propeller) so it would be helpful to know the year/mod to look ups parts diagrams.

I figured there is enough smart guys on here that should know.

TIA

Attachments

• IMG_20200726_144805_compress58.jpg
    IMG_20200726_144805_compress58.jpg
    563 KB · Views: 39
One of these days I'll restore my little Neptune Mighty Mite.I think it's over 50 years old.

Reactions: TK4
At that age OEM will likely be replaced by aftermarket but those things ran forever. I don't know the current eco rules on outboards but remember the 20:1 ratio ones disappearing in a cloud of smoke on a rainbow tinted lake. Someone told me a blue sheen on the water got you in trouble.

Perhaps a stupid question but have you opened it up and looked for a plate that gives year and model etc?

Sent from my iPhone using GTAMotorcycle.com
No name are on the outside. It is missing

Did not see anything obvious on the inside.
I will follow the links above as a starting point of resources.

if the plate is missing
there should be something stamped somewhere
not a casting, a stamp, on a major portion of the engine
like one of the crankcase housings

So it looks like it is a 80's motor. Somewhere around 86 or 88.

Klaus Marine Inc. in Etobicoke has been recommended as they specialize in Johnson motors, among others.

Johnson and Evinrudes have the SN stamped into a casting plug on the cylinder. Look for omething like this:

Attachments

• 1595887167699.png
    1595887167699.png
    1 MB · Views: 11
What kind of boat you got? It seems like more and more of my friends are getting boats! Am I missing something? Like 3 buddies bought boats this season.