First Time Riding 2-up... Major Success! | GTAMotorcycle.com

First Time Riding 2-up... Major Success!

Jonnie

Thought I'd share my experience with other new riders, like myself, who are interested in riding 2-up.

I've been riding for a few months. My mount is a lowered (1.5") stock Ninja 250r with 150/60 back tire. I bought my bike used and as is.

All in all, the experience was a major success! Your bike will become less fun for you and probably loads of fun for the passenger (who presumably doesn't spend too much time on a motorcycle).

How I prepared my bike:
- Replaced rear seat cowl with passenger seat.
- Changed my preload setting from 2 to 4.
- Increased my tire psi by 2, to become 30/34.

Ideally you want your passenger to wear the same gear as if they were driving the motorcycle. But in the end all that is needed is a DOT approved helmet.

How I briefed my passenger:
- Do not get on or off the bike until I tell you it's safe to do so.
- While on the bike, your feet should always be on the foot pegs. (The exhaust pipe will burn you, watch out!)
- If possible, refrain from fidgeting or moving while seated on the bike.
- Use your thighs or knees against my sides to brace yourself for acceleration and stops.
- Hold onto the straps on the passenger seat, or put your arms around my waist.
- When I lean, you lean your body with me. For good practice, put your head near my left shoulder when I turn left and right, when I go right.
- To get on the bike put your left foot on the left peg, use your left arm for leverage on my left shoulder and then proceed to get on.

Did a few laps around the block to get use to the feeling of riding 2-up and then it was off on our ride!