2023 Ride Report - North Shore of St. Lawrence | GTAMotorcycle.com

2023 Ride Report - North Shore of St. Lawrence

shanekingsley

Curry - so nice it burns you twice
Site Supporter
This is a trip I've been wanting to do for around 15 years, ever since I heard that there was a road called the 138 that hugged the north shore of the St. Lawrence and ended in a small Innu fishing town called Natashquan. I later found out that there is another town that is past Natashquan called Kegaska and it's about 40km of gravel to get there - and along this stretch of the 138 is where any road currently ends. There are talks of completing the road all the way out towards Happy Valley Goose Bay, but I've been hearing of this for the past 15 years. Making it to at least Natashquan would be amazing and riding to end of the paved road. Stopping in at the Manic Cinq hydroelectric dam would be equally amazing and riding the 389 to get there. I've heard that the Saguenay region is really beautiful and that the 381 is one of the best roads in eastern Canada, so that's a big one on the list too.

I haven't been able to do this trip previously because of work or family committments, however this year I finally have the time off to make it happen. The plan is to leave early morning on a Saturday and be back the following Friday night - it's a family member's 50th birthday on the 8th day, so I have to accomplish what I can in 7 days tops.

The very rough route is something like this, while avoiding Montreal and Quebec City and sticking to backroads and avoiding hwy if possible: https://goo.gl/maps/Uap4sB6UPcPQz5cm7
1692364303839.png