Yamaha V Star 250 | GTAMotorcycle.com

Yamaha V Star 250

Fr0stByte24

Anyone have any experience with a Yamaha V Star 250? Would you recommend this to a beginner female rider? My only real concern is acceleration and not having enough power to get out of a situation. A ninja 300 / R3 are also being considered but the cruiser style is more her thing (short rider). Thanks!

Last edited:
Dont know enough about the cruisers to say if it can do highway or not, but I hear vstar 650/honda shadows are great to learn on, and still very highway capable

I think you will do fine with the vstar. I am 200lbs male and I rode one for my first season. As a beginner I wasn't looking for power and performance.

The V-Star has enough power to get you into or out of a "situation". They are fantastic first bikes. The design has been unchanged since the late 80's or early 90's. Clearly Yamaha believes in it or they wouldn't have built it so long. It is an easy bike to build confidence on. Tell this person to get one, ride it for a season or two and they should be able to sell it for pretty much what they pay for it (as long as it isn't brand new).

... and she's riding along with you on your R6?
R3

-> Put a rear view camera on your ride.

Great! Thanks for the replies, I shall pass the message along!

... and she's riding along with you on your R6?
R3

-> Put a rear view camera on your ride.

Yep, well the goal is to keep her in front so she sets the pace and I'll just check out the scenery ;)

I think it'd be perfect for a new rider, male or female. It's got a super-low seat height (27-in), weighs nothing (326-lbs wet from what I read online) and is completely non-threatening. It even looks pretty good.

Great! Thanks for the replies, I shall pass the message along!

Yep, well the goal is to keep her in front so she sets the pace and I'll just check out the scenery ;)