Worth it?? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Worth it??

CB Rider

I may have the opportunity to salvage a mid 70's era? 3cylinder Kawasaki. Missing some bits, not too rusted, engine turns but no where near running. I'm not really a mechanic but good with my hands and a quick study. Anyone have thoughts or advice about this being a first project bike. From what I've read it might be a cool ride to save.

2-stroke? The internet has made everything easier (locating parts/people that know what they are doing/videos on what to do). If you have the time/space/money, why not.

Almost all major restoration projects lose heaps of money (probably $1 return for every $3 to 4 spent) and consume your heart and soul, knowing this from the beginning is important. Obviously there are exceptions and it depends what you start with and where you are going (see the guy on GTAM that is planning on pressure washing and giving a tuneup to two abandoned bikes and selling them when sparkly).

Good luck, post pictures

Which triple? they made a bunch and they are all worth a bit of dosh right now, very collectible. Also stupid fun to pilot.

If you want to sell it, limit your investment in it to sweeping all the parts into a single pile. Someone may buy it.

If you want to wrench on it, by all means do so - I think they're neat - but as stated above, it will be a net loss for you in the end.

Thanks everyone. If i can get it, it will be for free. don't plan on selling it, all the work will be for me to have some fun learn some skills and (fingers crossed) have a unique, fun, exciting(read about the "widow maker"nickname) ride I can truly call mine. Any other input? feel free.

If it is a 500 or 750 version, it is worth keeping and spending the money on to fix it up. If it is a 250/350/400 then not so much. The smaller versions are ok but the investment into one of these will be as much as the 500/750s. The 500/750 will bring a decent return on your investment the 250/350/400s less likely. parillaguy