Washing motorcycle properly | GTAMotorcycle.com

Washing motorcycle properly

alangolding25

Site Supporter
Ill be on my bike within a week Id say. So I will certainly be cleaning it after each rider to get the salt and grime away

Typically I use a damp sponge along with some cleaning products. Can be tedious. I have always seen guys who get a bit hose and power blast their bikes clean. I have always been hesitant to do that.

Are there any risks or is there anything wrong with hosing down your bike? Would you need to cover your ignition ? etc.

I use a regular garden hose (with no attachment) without any problem. I assumed it would be fine, as the rain doesn't hurt my bike. Didn't give me any problems. I'm a clueless noob though, FWIW. Will be watching... :confused:

Edit: I would dry it off afterward, and take it for a short spin to try drying out nooks and crannies.

yeah I thought of that! But then I think, rain is a very different application to a garden hose. i.e more power, spraying directly from the sides. I have seen tonnes of videos of people doing it, just never have done it myself.

Wd-40

Use automotive soap on the paintwork, but dish soap everywhere else and let it sit to de-grease.
I would avoid power washers, too many stories of electronics shorted out after a power-wash of a road bike. Dirt bikes, go for it.

I've always washed every bike (street/dirt/race) with a garden hose WITH a spray nozzle and a bucket of soapy water. All my bikes start after and run fine.

I did did have to replace the wheel bearings in my dirt bike though, after 10 years they've done their job.

use a clean sponge / microfibre. if you want to be really careful, use two buckets. one for soap and one for squeezing out the sponge / cloth to keep the grit separated from the clean water

Normal (low pressure) hose spray attachment is fine.
High-pressure washer must be quite cautious! Can damage gaskets, wash out grease fittings, damage chain etc.