Valve Job (cleaning and lapping) | GTAMotorcycle.com

Valve Job (cleaning and lapping)

Rockwell

I've had my engine apart for the past year and a half, and I finally have the next few months to try to get everything done. I've had a possible head gasket leak, so I ordered a bunch of new parts, gaskets included, and am currently working on cleaning the valves.

I soaked my first (exhaust) valve in Varsol for a while, then placed electrical tape over the stem and threw it in a drill. I used a medium Scotch-Brite pad while rotating in the drill to attempt to get the carbon deposits off. Here is what I have so far:

IMG_2711sm.jpg

Since this is my first time doing this, I am not sure how far to take it. Should I continue with the Scotch-Brite pad and attempt to clean these further?

If I reuse these valves (as opposed to buying new ones), I am going to lap them and test for air leaks. Looking at the seating face, do these look like signs of pitting? And, if so, will lapping rectify this?

IMG_2713e.jpg

You can see when lapping is done as the entire sealing surface is uniform. Even if you buy new calves you should lap them in. Nothing is perfectly manufactured.

You can see when lapping is done as the entire sealing surface is uniform. Even if you buy new calves you should lap them in. Nothing is perfectly manufactured.
I bough some Prussian Blue and some lapping compound. I am going to do the lapping and measure that the seats and seating faces are within spec, and test for leaks.

If I do buy new valves, I was told to take them to a machine shop with the heads and have the surfaces cut properly. Is lapping just as acceptable?

Last edited:
I bough some Prussian Blue and some lapping compound. I am going to do the lapping and measure that the seats and seating faces are within spec, and test for leaks.

If I do buy new valves, I was told to take them to a machine ship with the heads and have the surfaces cut properly. Is lapping just as acceptable?