R1 vs CBR600RR... | GTAMotorcycle.com

R1 vs CBR600RR...

E. Honda

So I was found an 09 R1 for a pretty decent price and was considering moving up from my 08 CBR.

I love the cbr even though its my first bike and don't have much to compare it to, but I'm a bigger guy (about 6'2" 230lbs) and figured a 1000cc would suit me better now that I have a few years experience.

Anyone have experience on both that could point out any major differences? Does the R1 handle much differently? Is the upgrade to 1000cc a huge difference in power? Any issues with the 09 R1 or R1's in general?

I was pretty surprised at how narrow the R1 felt. Wondering if there are any other surprises I might get.

Any input would be appreciated

I can't offer much in terms of comparing the CBR to the R1, but I can comment on the difference in power.

I ride a Ninja 250, since last year. I'm a noob. I demo rode a CBR600 a while back, have demoed a GSXR750. One day, at Ready Honda, I demo rode the VFR800 (~110-120 hp I think) and the VFR1200. The VFR1200 was insane, felt like I was hanging on for dear life when I gave that thing WOT in 1st and 2nd gear. Pure awesome. I rode it thinking it's the revision of the older VFR800. Probably more powerful, but I figured, can't be that much.

It was weeks later that I found out the VFR1200 has 170hp. So if a complete idiot like me can handle a 170hp bike vs. his 28hp bike, without even really realizing, then I'm sure someone like you coming from a CBR600 can handle a litre bike. The power delivery is likely different from a VFR1200, but I can't imagine it being out of the ordinary for you.

So if a complete idiot like me can handle a 170hp bike vs. his 28hp bike, without even really realizing, then I'm sure someone like you coming from a CBR600 can handle a litre bike. The power delivery is likely different from a VFR1200, but I can't imagine it being out of the ordinary for you.