HF Trailer Build Input | GTAMotorcycle.com

HF Trailer Build Input

spaceboy

So I'm finishing up my trailer build today, but I'm not sure how I should arrange the chocks and bed hooks.

I have three chocks (only billed for one!), and 6 bed hooks. I figured having an additional chock in the middle would be best for balance, when only towing one bike.
Is this excessive? I've also seen a staggered setup with two chocks, and I'm wondering if that would work. I'm towing with a sedan, so I have to be wary of tongue weight.

Also, do I have to strap the triple down, or can I just strap the front wheel into the chock?

Thanks.

205e5pz.jpg

I'm no expert, but a few comments...

1. There's no reason to have the chocks attached permanently - just use bolts with wing nuts. Then you can drill the extra set of holes for the centre mounting position for when you have only one bike. I agree that it would be best to have the bike in the centre when there is only one. Also, you can remove all the chocks when you are going to Home Depot or whatever.

2. Are you ***SURE*** you can put two bikes on that thing anyway? It looks very similar to the folding 4 x 8 that I have (except the toungue on yours looks stronger). I am not 100% convinced it is wide enough for two bikes and, even if it is, I think the maximum payload may be only 800 lb or so. You would be pretty close to the bottom of the leaf springs with two bikes on it. Maybe yours is the 5 x 8?

3. With the Baxley sport chock or similar that grabs the front tire when you drive in, you only need to hold the bike forward in the chock...theoretically. Me, I still put a strap from the frame on either side to the front corners of the trailer. With the type of chocks you have I would definitely be looking for some lateral stability from the straps.

1. That's probably a good idea, but I still need to figure out a good arrangement for the chocks, to allow proper hook placement.