Hanging up the helmet for a couple years | GTAMotorcycle.com

Hanging up the helmet for a couple years

arogal

Hey Everyone,
This really isn't my choice, but I don't have any other option at the moment. I'm gonna be hanging up the helmet for a couple years. ZX6R got stolen from underground parking 2 weeks ago (made a post about it) and I don't feel comfortable having a bike down there again. I've been pondering back and fourth in my head what I should do, but I know whenever the bike is down there, I will always have that thought in the back of my head that it's gonna be gone when I wake up in the morning again.
It really is quite a shame as I pack on 15,000km+ a year and it is a passion of mine. Haven't been on 2 wheels in 3 weeks now and it feels like something in my life is just missing.
Wife and I have been renting for a couple years and currently pay a lot lower than the average place due to being there for 3+ years (rent has sky rocketed in the last few years also). Any other place we look at is roughly $700-$800 more a month. Did the math and if we truck it out for a couple more years it'd be roughly $10k a year we can save vs is we were to move. It's a shame that some thief literally ruined something for me that I loved. It was an escape, a way for me to meet new people, have fun with friends on 2, let loose etc. Also is going to suck how I will only have "3 consecutive years" insurance as I am going to cancel my policy. M2 expires in 2 years, but a bunch of my friends said they'd let me use their bike for the test, so that's not an issue.
Has anyone else been in this situation? And if so, how did you handle it?

How about getting like a small 125cc or 250 cc just to scoot around and commute? They'll be a lot less likely to be stolen plus insurance should be around 300-400 per year in Burlington.