Do the brakes on a Ninja 250 work without the bike on? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Do the brakes on a Ninja 250 work without the bike on?

tsdexter

In my car, I can use the brakes for 1 or 2 slow stops before the pedal firms up and they don't work until I start it (because they're hydraulic I assume?)...

Can I use the Ninja brakes continually while the bike is off? I've been walking it around the driveway and garage with no problem with the brakes firming up, so I think I can? The reason I ask is because the shop where I am going to get the safety is about 1-2km from my house, all down hill, I don't want to have to wait for a buddy to come by with a trailer so I'm thinking I'll probably just walk it down to the shop and ride the brakes on the steeper part of the hill. Is this a bad idea? What's the legality of doing this on the sidewalk (bike not started) and is it a terrible idea to sit on? (ride down the hill, unstarted)

The riding it sounds like a bad idea to me, but I'm a noob so I don't know if it actually is bad or not?

Thanks,
Thomas

If you are going to coast down the hills on it make sure the keys are in your pocket and not the ignition and I would assume you could on the side of the road like a scooter or bicycle as you aren't using the enigne?

yes they will work. the reason your car firms up is because they are power assisted brakes. which means there is a pump that increases the pressure you apply with your foot to get good braking on all 4 wheels.
on your bike, its just you, and hydraulics will work with the motor on or off.

side note, why not just ride the thing to the shop? if you look like you know what youre doing and its not that far, i would risk it. not being on the bike in full control down a hill could get ugly real fast.

if you do try this, please have a friend take video.