Complete beginner getting Bmw s1000RR as first bike? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Complete beginner getting Bmw s1000RR as first bike?

Phalanx

1.Just give it to me straight. Is this just completely stupid and suicidal ? Completely new rider, have had M2 license few years but no bike experience besides bike course.

Getting my first bike ever and am a brand-new rider. I was going to strictly stay far far away from litre bikes and only go for 600cc. However friend is selling his bmw s1000rr and i can get it at a very good price. This is really the only reason im even considering getting a 1000cc. I know this bike has different settings for speed and you can leave it in rain modes to go slower, but with the higher speeds available most ppl are obviously going to use it if its there a click away... some people say it has lots of safety features.

People with experience, what are your thoughts? (besides insurance issues and discussion pls just stick to my question)

If you feel you need to put me in my place and tear me a new one please do as I need to understand this.

2.What about maintenance on this bike? How much more expensive is it, if it is, vs the japanese bikes like yamaha and kawasaki?

Last edited:
What sort of quotes are you getting? $10,000/year? 20?

It's not completely crazy considering the bike's multiple electronic nannies, but just about anything else is going to be more sensible.

Either way insurance is going to quash your S1000RR dreams, unless money is no object to you.