Clutch adjustment needed? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Clutch adjustment needed?

mike226

Site Supporter
Hey everyone. I need some info. I think I need to adjust my clutch, and not sure if I can do it easily or I need to take it to a shop. And I will easily say I am not a mechanic by any means, but I am trying to do more stuff on my own instead of paying big bucks at a shop.

I have a Kawi 400r, about 7k km on it. I was just putting it in the garage and noticed that with the bike off, in first gear, i pulled the clutch all the way in, and as it started to roll I felt and heard the engine catch (didn't stop the bike from rolling, but definitely was not "free"). Plus it does change gears fairly rough. Correct me if I am wrong, but I am assuming that is not normal?

And to adjust it, there is minor adjustment I can do from the set screws at the lever, or should I go to the other end of the cable for adjustment?

Thanks in advance.

you need to check your manual for the proper amount of freeplay at your lever. usually its a very small amount, like 1-2 cm (i think) if your minor adjustment doesn't bring the freeplay into spec, then you need to adjust where the clutch goes into the engine

you need to check your manual for the proper amount of freeplay at your lever. usually its a very small amount, like 1-2 cm (i think) if your minor adjustment doesn't bring the freeplay into spec, then you need to adjust where the clutch goes into the engine

Freeplay is supposed to be 2-3mm, which it is. I did check that already. I have not done any adjustment yet, going to take a better look tomorrow during daylight