Been restoring a Ninja 650 I bought for $1,300 (and vlogging it) | GTAMotorcycle.com

Been restoring a Ninja 650 I bought for $1,300 (and vlogging it)

adri

Site Supporter
Back in January, I bought a Ninja 650 with 330 km on it for only $1,300. The previous owner is an entrepreneur who's businesses blew up, and then so did his wife (three kids in 7 years). On top of a crazy life, he was a fairweather rider who's wife absolutely hated him riding motorcycles (eye roll).

He wanted to get the bike fixed up before selling it, but when he found out what that would cost him, he decided the juice wasn't worth the squeeze, so he sold it to me as-is where-is instead. I've slowly been getting this bike back to her former glory and video'ing it ("vlogging" it) along the way.

I'm not a motorcycle mechanic nor a video editor wiz, so some parts might be painful to watch, but if you like watching this type of thing, or if you just want to flame a stranger on the internet to feel better about your own miserable life, feel free to watch my videos :) Here are the first three:

#1 - Bringing the bike home, explaining the plan for it, and coming across an interesting surprise:

#2 - Getting the bike to start (overcoming dead battery, vapor lock, and another surprise to tackle):

#3 - Siphoning out the old gas with a $15 gas pump (tank had been drained in the past so I took a shortcut here):

#4 - Oil change (discovered the oil filter was completely stuck on, had to hammer it):

Still ahead: I'll do a coolant video, and finally a brake fluid video.

I was thinking about putting fresh tires on this bike, because despite the low km the rubber is still 13 years old, but I think I'll leave these on, reflect that in the price, and let whoever buys it deal get whatever tires they want for it. Some will buy the best rubber they can get, others will happy with a crappy set of Shinkos, whatever...