What are the limitations to get a bike on the highway? cc etc? | GTAMotorcycle.com

What are the limitations to get a bike on the highway? cc etc?

Hiya! :) I'm new to the bike scene and was wondering what the minimum requirements a bike has to meet before it can be ridden on the highway?

Is it cc-based or something else? I've been getting conflicting results via Google.
Ontario.

There is only one place to start, and this is it:
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_90h08_e.htm

Other sources may give you specific answers,
but the Highway Traffic Act is the law, and nothing else is.

So take a look in there. Good luck.

Here is an example. I sometimes ride my Honda CBR-125R on 400-series highways in Ontario, or on Interstate highways in the USA. I am entitled to do so, because that bike can reliably go the speed limit almost all the time (maybe not uphill against a headwind), and it can certainly go 40 MPH or 70 KPH in any weather in which I would ride it.

I've gone through what I could for now and found nothing to help with the question. I did find lot of other interesting facts though, so thank you for that! :)
I'll take another look when my eyes stop throbbing. lol

So cc has nothing to do with it? Only minimum reliably attainable speed of 100kph?
What if someone stroked their Derbi GPR-50R to 80cc and now max out at 120kph? What would the law say to that? The GPR50R is not considered LS.

The requirements vary from one place to another.

If we are talking about Ontario then the legal restriction is that the vehicle has to be legally registered and plated as a "motorcycle" - and not a "moped" or a "limited speed motorcycle" or a "motor-assisted bicycle" or an "e-bike". All of these terms have definitions in the HTA.

If the Derbi 50 is registered as a full "motorcycle" and not a "limited speed motorcycle" or "moped" then legally, you are good to go.