Wanting to try trail riding, any suggestions on bike? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Wanting to try trail riding, any suggestions on bike?

sundin4prez

Hey everyone, this year I am looking to try trail riding for the first time and looking to see everyone suggestion on best bike for my needs. Ideally I would like to ride the trails in Ganarska.

What is everyone's preference on dual sport VS small adventure bike VS large adventure bike for these type of trails? Obviously I am a beginner and I am going to drop the bike multiple times and this is something that I am more than fine with.

Due to lack of space/funds (condo living) I would prefer to not buy a offroad only bike and instead looking dualsport or adventure bike with knobbies. New or used are both options. Looking to avoid KTM due to awful experiences with 2 different 690 dukes over the years .

What are everyone's thoughts on the following bikes for beginner trails in and around southern Ontario?

-DRZ400
-Honda XR150L
-CRF250L/300/klx250/300
-CB500X
-Tenere
-KLR 650
-Vstrom 650 or 800

Thanks everyone!

Need more info.

How do you plan on getting to the trails? Trailer or ride?
If riding, how close are you? How many kms of pavement/highway will you do to get to the trails?
Will you be using this bike for primarily off-road or will be doing some commuting/traveling with it?

If you're doing primarily dirt and you are trailering, then the first three options are your best bet. If you can find one, the WR250R will be the best of the 250-300cc dual sports wrt power-to-weight and suspension.

If you are riding long distances, something with a bit more power and comfort is your best bet, then look at the DRZ400, DR650, XR650. All around 350 lbs.

Look at the wet weight of the bike. 250lbs is optimum for trail-riding. 450 lbs... not so much - not just because it's heavy to pick up, but because it carries so much inertia into corners and when braking, making it harder to handle - especially if you're a beginner.