To Buy or Not to Buy? That is the question | GTAMotorcycle.com

To Buy or Not to Buy? That is the question

DjSamphard

Hi Everbody!

I am in little predicament and I do not know what to do. I recently started riding about 3 months so I bought a Ninja 250r. I sold it this week because I want to get something with a bit more "P0WER". I have two bikes in mind. The first a 2007 Yamaha FZ6 with 17000km for approx $3.5-4k. The second choice is a brand new 2016 Yamaha FZ07 for $8000 OTD.

Should I buy the FZ6 next week and drive that around for 1-2 years to build up more experience. Or not buy a bike this year and save the money and by the start of the next season buy the FZ07. This riding season is almost over and I am sure it will be too cold to ride from October -April

So, what should i do? Buy the fz6 and continue riding the hell out of it this year? Or save the money from selling the bike and the insurance money and buy a new bike next year?

Last edited:
I'm no expert but, fz6 = inline 4 i believe, and fz07 = torque-y parallel twin

pick your poison

also 8k OTD for fz07 is a pretty good deal

Buy back your Ninja and learn to ride.
I take it all back if you are over 112 kg.

You should buy a POS little bike like a 125 just to maintain an insurance coverage history. You're a newb so if you wait till next year you'll potentially be starting from zero again when it comes to insurance.

Riding season is nowhere near over, could be many months still!

Both bikes are equally right and wrong choices. Regardless of which you buy, you will feel equally satisfied initially. After riding 2 years on your fz6/fz07 you will want something different, for some variable reason. The bike does not suit the riding you do/want to do. The bike doesn't have some feature you want. You want to try something with different ergonomics. You're just bored and want something different. You're done with riding. So on and so forth...