seen today in GTA.... | GTAMotorcycle.com

seen today in GTA....

PaisaMed

a guy ring a scooter in shorts, t-shirt, sandals, and a beanie helmet. But, he had a leather motorcycle jacket on, although unzipped.

can anyone explain this choice of gear/dress?

Sent from my SM-G955W using Tapatalk

Scooter with a plate? Or an e-bike? The distinction in this case is critical

I get it, warm weather, less gear. I just don't understand why risk it? To be honest, it's selfish. If anyone goes down at 20km/h or higher with no gloves, pants or jacket, you're looking at months of healing and someone else has to take care of you. It's not all about YOU. Sure, OHIP covers most of your skin rash and broken bones but someone at home has to take time to look after your injuries because of foolish decisions. Just my rant.

I started riding on the street, in 1971. (peace baby) I was a hippie, long hair and the whole thing. Riding motorcycles back then was one word "Freedom"
The freedom to ride with the wind in your hair, just a t-shirt and shorts. Aside from black leather jackets, their was no real gear. I think I have mentioned this before, I would ride from San Francisco to LA on PCH with no helmet. But that was a different time. Hardly any cars on the road.
So I kind of get it when I see young people riding in shorts and a t-shirt. I wouldn't do it today, but I do understand the "freedom" of it.

For that unique smell of arm pit sweat and leather.

I get it, warm weather, less gear. I just don't understand why risk it? To be honest, it's selfish. If anyone goes down at 20km/h or higher with no gloves, pants or jacket, you're looking at months of healing and someone else has to take care of you. It's not all about YOU. Sure, OHIP covers most of your skin rash and broken bones but someone at home has to take time to look after your injuries because of foolish decisions. Just my rant.
But it is about you (them). If they can't do it the way they want to then they won't do it.