Question regarding riding bike in bumper to bumper traffic? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Question regarding riding bike in bumper to bumper traffic?

rashidme

Ok, so when you guys ride your bike in bumper to bumper traffic on 401 or dvp, do you have to keep you clutch pulled in all the time because you are going at like between 20-25 km/h. Is it bad for the clutch?

Not if you lane-split like a boss. :p

Ok, just kidding... I do not enjoy the idea of lane-splitting, even if I was pretty much forced to in traffic last night.. I'm no mechanic but my understanding is that many bikes have a wet clutch, so using it frequently won't necessarily harm it. I'd be more worried about the clutch cable than the clutch itself, if it's not properly lubricated for example, but as I said, I'm not a mechanic.

I've ridden over 22,000km on my 250R and have not had any issues relating to clutch usage other than the cable needing to be lubricated, so I wouldn't worry much.

Something I'd be more concerned about in the coming warmer weather, would be the bike overheating when stuck in traffic... especially if you have a larger-displacement bike. I see some riders shut the bike right off and walk it when it's that bad...

You dont have to keep the clutch pulled in all the time, when its going slowly just ride slower... But yeah you wont hurt the clutch if you have to keep it pulled in a lot. I think people who say that riding a clutch is bad are people who grew up driving old *** american built cars, where the throwout bearing would go pretty easily if you rode the clutch a lot... Ive never had a throwout bearing go in a car or a bike and i ride the clutch all the time.

I've been told that bikes can handle it, cars not so much. That being said I try to keep moving at all times. I'm one of those people with a couple car lengths in front of me that I use to maintain a little bit of speed.