New to the area -- favourite local routes? | GTAMotorcycle.com

New to the area -- favourite local routes?

ska

Hi all,

As I mentioned in the "Introductions" section, I'm new to Toronto area and getting back into riding after years away --- so I don't know many local routes. Picking up a new bike and can't wait to break it (and me!) in.

I'll probably take a week shakedown ride in June or July, but until then I'd love suggestions of favourite local loops starting in/around Toronto and returning sometime the same day.

Figured I'd ask the locals; so, any favourites to suggest?

I have been looking a bit at links found here on the forums also but thought a thread may turn up some good rides.

Join in on some group rides with different leaders to find different routes. Also just pull up googlemaps and find something that looks like fun and go explore.

A lot of people don't like to post up roads/routes, myself included.

Sure, that's your prerogative. I expect others do though so we'll see.

I'll find them on my own as well, but suggestions are welcome.

+1 on the Big Map. It's a good tool to plan day trips out of Toronto.

Most of the better roads are located in the Muskoka's and Haliburton and still close enough to easily get home before dark. A longer day trip is to head out to the Calabogie area and explore the roads between here and there.

I think you may have taken this comment the wrong way.

People on here tend to keep group ride routes private in fear that the police might be waiting for them along the route. I'm not sure if that is a fair concern but I do recall a group of mini coopers getting pulled over last year which made the News. The mini owners thought by telling everyone publically of their rally route they would not get tickets for 15-20+ the limit but that proved to be wrong. They ended up being part of a OPP Blitz. I don't think the OPP were even aware of the rally nor were they "waiting" for them specifically.