New to riding:What to look for in my first bike? | GTAMotorcycle.com

New to riding:What to look for in my first bike?

Hi,
I'm new to riding, and just in the process of getting my M2. I was wondering what would be a good bike to start. Within this forum I've come across debates about fuel injection vs carbs, Abs or no abs etc. Should these be my main priorities while looking for a bike?

Also I have no experience in buying a bike. What would be the common problems to look out for when buying a used bike? If anyone could guide me on that, I would really appreciate that.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

Small displacement, mechanically sound used bike as a starter. Don't worry about cosmetics too much. Lots of used bike buying guides online and mentioned on this forum.

<500cc <50hp <400lb is a general rule of thumb. Any of the 250-300cc street bikes are ideal, as they are not as heavy, and all will competently do the highway all day at legal speeds. 125cc bikes are great for around town but may not be great on the highway. You are looking for a Cessna and not a Lear Jet.

In general an older bike will not require comprehensive insurance, so getting collision should be enough. There is no point on paying the comprehensive insurance premium for an older bike that has a few bumps and bruises. Used bikes are also cheaper to purchase. After a year on your learner bike, get whatever you want.

Ontario specific requirements: Before you buy call for quotes on bike insurance. They can vary considerably depending on if you are an old fart (me) or <25yo, where you live, your driving record, type of insurance coverage.

Things I looked for on my bike,
Nice chain(well maintained)make sure the links aren't dry and lube on it isn't old . Check for appropriate chain slack.
Check sprocket for worn teeth.
Look for scratches/cracks on/under fairings, under cowl.
Underneath bike for signs of cracks from pothole damage, scrapes.