New Newbie here. | GTAMotorcycle.com

New Newbie here.

Kainan

Hello!

Decided a few weeks ago that I was going to get my M1, both because my car is barely functional and would cost more than I can afford to repair, and because gas prices have gone parabolic.

Shortly thereafter found out that getting insurance on a 300-500 cc bike with an m1 license can be quite costly.

So really my objective now is to figure out how to make getting started with motorcycles an economical and enjoyable method of transportation.

Some basic info about me:
30~ years old,
Insured without claims/accidents for 13 years (although not sure if that matters for motorcycles.)

I currently spend around 200$ a week on gas. All driving on mainly country roads and some city ones with a speed limit of 80kmh or lower.

I was hoping that the 125cc Honda grom might be a good choice, or heck maybe even the 109cc Honda Navi.

I did see something online that said insurance for bikes under 100cc was something like 4x cheaper for people with the M1 license. Then quickly realized that the only bikes that can go 80-120kmh 90cc-100cc are in foreign countries and aren't sold in Canada.

I don't really want a 50cc scooter as I don't think that would be safe to ride on a 80kmh road as they typically can't reach 80kmh.

Anyone have any advice for the most affordable option that I can safely ride, for minimal insurance costs on 80kmh roads?

(I fully intend to get the M2 60 days after the M1, but I still need something to get my 60 days riding Experience with while I have the m1.).

CBR125 makes 12 hp compared to the 8 in the grom. Probably same insurance cost with 50% more power. What is your budget? People may give you some ideas. Market right now is crazy. Used bikes are expensive and new bikes are unobtainium.