Lost with wiring (power outlet mod for CBR 125) | GTAMotorcycle.com

Lost with wiring (power outlet mod for CBR 125)

BioRouge

ello,

I'm a little lost with the wiring - first time trying this sort of thing.

Heck its my first time opening up a bike period. After a few beers, decided to open up the fairings, remove the seat and check out the wiring. Did a bit of research on this form and online before i touched anything.

This is what I have in mind:

I was going to mount a Standard Aux power outlett from crappy tire. in my trunk just behind the battery firewall and run the power cables as well as my GPS power cord through a small hole to the right (ill drill one out) - see image below.

DSC00290.jpg

My understanding is that the power unit needs to be grounded (black wire?) and needs a power source (red wire?). If i use the battery directly, won't this thing just continue draining power if the bike is turned off?

I thought it might be a good idea to wire it with the brake light (always on if the bike is turned on). So i opened up the light assembly to see how that was connected.

Wiring Harness from bike to tail light:
DSC00283.jpg

DSC00284.jpg

Wiring Harness from tail light:
DSC00285.jpg

Is there some sort of a Y splitter that i can get to use with this harness? I'd hate to modify the stock wiring for this in case i ever do any mods to the tail lights...

Which one of the wires (green, green/yellow, brown) is the power and do i need any inline resistors?

I also saw this on the side - i'm assuming its a ground. Can I use this to ground the aux power unit?

DSC00288.jpg

Any help is always appreciated :D

Last edited:
What you want, is a power source that is switched with the ignition.

The tail lamp ... not the brake lamp! ... will work for this, as long as the total current in your load, including all the standard lighting that the bike already has on that circuit, remains within the current rating (10 amps) of that circuit.