Lawyer refusing to give disclosure | GTAMotorcycle.com

Lawyer refusing to give disclosure

DOHC1

I have been charged with a criminal charge, and am firing the lawyer I have been using so far. My trial is set for January, and i have NOT retained him, as he is askign for too much money. Instead, I am getting legal aid as I am a student and my university offers it for free. Lawyer is asking me for an additional $300 to give me the disclosure papers, saying that it is for his services. He has been paid over $2000, and has not done anything other than set dates etc.

1) Can he legally hold my disclosure papers and pretty much ask for a ransom to get them back? Even if he IS owed money from me, is holding back papers that are essential to my case legal? (obstruction of justice?) Next month I am due in for court to declare who my lawyer will be for the trial..legal aid lawyers need my papers ASAP to look at the case.
2) Can I get a second copy of disclosure from the court for a fee?
3) If my court date comes and I havent gotten discloure off my lawyer at that point, can I simply go up to the judge when I am called up, and explain my situation?

shouldn't your new lawyer be able to answer this question for you? if not maybe you should have stuck with the original one

I think the disclosure is yours. Unless you have a balance owing, I can't see why it is not in your hands. I have always kept my own documents, let the lawyers make copies for themselves.

I am meeting with my new lawyer tomm, so hopefully he can guide me. In hindsight, I should have hung onto the disclosure papers..live and learn I guess :(

$2000 is kinda steep if he hasn't done much work. I'd ask him for a bill with the breakdown of the charges.... i.e. the payment charges not the legal ones.

$2000 is kinda steep if he hasn't done much work. I'd ask him for a bill with the breakdown of the charges.... i.e. the payment charges not the legal ones.