Keep my 05 CBR 600rr or get a 2008 r6 | GTAMotorcycle.com

Keep my 05 CBR 600rr or get a 2008 r6

Domon

Site Supporter
Hey guys thinking of getting a newer bike. I have been doing track days along for the last 3 years and wanted to try something different from a Honda. I started on a 1998 CBR f3 then got a 05 cbr600rr. My buddy is selling is 08 r6. Its rated at 135hp for 600 that's pretty good my Honda dyno'd at 105hp. I'm a heavy guy @ 280. I started running intermediate group last year with riders choice. I was thinking of changing the spring on the front and a new shock at the back for my cbr to better match my weight. I know I would have to change the brings on the r6 too but, I wanted to ask you guys and gals opinion. Does the r6 have more to offer me then my 05 CBR?

Hey guys thinking of getting a newer bike. I have been doing track days along for the last 3 years and wanted to try something different from a Honda. I started on a 1998 CBR f3 then got a 05 cbr600rr. My buddy is selling is 08 r6. Its rated at 135hp for 600 that's pretty good my Honda dyno'd at 105hp. I'm a heavy guy @ 280. I started running intermediate group last year with riders choice. I was thinking of changing the spring on the front and a new shock at the back for my cbr to better match my weight. I know I would have to change the brings on the r6 too but, I wanted to ask you guys and gals opinion. Does the r6 have more to offer me then my 05 CBR?

For the track I'm inclined to say yes. Something about the R6 making all its power up top in the rev-range, which is where you'll be on the track anyways. Not to mention its a mean looking bike.

Go for it if you don't have to put too much money in i'd say.

The R6 is around 105 hp too.

What Kellen said..

The only way an R6 can make 135hp to the wheel is with serious motor work, which means it will require an extremely condensed maintenance schedule or it's a time bomb.

Realistically the Yamaha won't be much different from your Honda.