Just starting out! | GTAMotorcycle.com

Just starting out!

mimico_polak

Site Supporter
Hey everyone! I'm just starting out in the sport and am looking to book my M2 in the next few weeks here at Humber! I'm very excited as I've been looking forward to this for a while!

I don't have a bike yet but have been researching the last few weeks and currently it's a toss-up b/w a 250cc sport bike (I'm a little scared of going 500-600cc right off the bat!) or a 250-500 smaller cruiser but some comments I've read say they may be dicey on the highway past 100kph!?

Also I'm interested in renting different types of bikes to get more familiar with what's best for me and my style prior to dropping $ on a bike for myself. Does anyone have good rental recommendations? City of Toronto only has about 2-3 places that rent bikes so it's hard to find!

Thanks in advance and looking forward to seeing you guys out there!

Wojtek

It's not easy finding a rental. Other than finding a friend who well let you borrow theirs, most people jump right in and buy their first bike. There are lots of threads here about good first bikes. I had a Ninja 250 for three years. Though clearly not high performance, it still had enough to out-accelerate most cars and hold its own on the highway. Though the speedometer was a tad unreliable, it could cruise at 110-115 without straining. A cruiser with the same horsepower probably would be about the same. I tried a Honda 125 and was not comfortable with it on the highway. Despite a lot of debating to the contrary, 250-500 have a number of advantages: they are cheap on insurance and gas, and you actually get to use all the gears. (On my CBR600, I rarely get out of second in the city, often don't get past fourth on the highways).

^^ +1

It's my first riding season and riding a 250. It's perfectly fine on the highway for me (I'm 5'7, 160lbs).