Insurance Void if Riding on Highway on M1? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Insurance Void if Riding on Highway on M1?

psacawa

Hi guys,

I did something very stupid. With 15 days left before I could get my M2, I started riding on the QEW and Gardiner. Yesterday, with 7 left, in quite heavy rain, I rear-ended another vehicle. There was no collision report because the damage was deemed minor.
I'm insured by *** through *** (having done a safety course) with Accident coverage and Loss and damages coverage. Does anyone know if they'll refuse to cover me because I was violating the license conditions?

Regards,
psacawa

Last edited:
Handle it privately out of pocket, DO NOT go through insurance.

Another vote for dealing with it yourself. Assuming you want to keep riding, the insurance increase will likely grossly exceed the cost of repairs. Hell, if the bike is just cosmetically banged up, don't bother fixing it yet. The chances of some more scratches are very high.

If the police were not involved and the other party is willing to deal with it solely in a private fashion, do that.

However if the other party as much as calls their insurance company and files any sort of claim (or in some cases, even asks questions) you could be up the creek without a paddle.

ANY claim against your insurance right now as a beginner rider with what is an automatic at-fault now already is going to be very bad. Although it's doubtful the insurance company would refuse to settle the claim, it would not surprise me that they drop you like a hot potato immediately afterwards, and a zero experience M1/M2 rider with a MC related at fault is going to be kryptonite to any other insurance company, especially if you have a cancellation on your record.