Helmet style? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Helmet style?

drmoocow

Hey, everyone.

I'm just getting into cycling, and I have a question regarding helmet styles.

I'm a big guy - 6'1, around 290. I'm thinking a cruiser is probably more my style, based on both size and preference. I've been eying shorty helmets, but I have a few concerns. Presumably since they're certified they'll offer similar protection to full-height styles, but are they unbearable for wind? Should I expect to increase my protein intake in the form of bugs? Should I look for one with vents, or are they open enough to not get unbearably hot?

I imagine over the next few weeks I'm going to have a ton of questions - I'm completely new to this. Hopefully I won't pester the crap out of everyone. :rolleyes:

Thanks!

I own both a full faced helmet and a half-helmet. Both are DOT certified, but a half helmet won't protect the lower portion of your face should it impact anything. I know there crash statistics floating around that show a higher percentage of facial impacts occur in the jaw area of the face. But then again, getting on a bike in general is inherently risky and it's ultimately your decision.

Now that we're past that disclaimer, ensure you get GOOD riding glasses. Something that will wrap around your eyes to block wind. Next, get earplugs. On colder rides you may want a bandana of one of those neoprene lower face masks to keep warm. Or do what I do - throw on a full faced helmet in anything but hot weather. As for bugs, I haven't had a huge problem. The wind isn't unbearable at all (it feels pretty good, and is one of the pros of wearing a shorty), but rain can feel like tiny little needles stabbing your face.

So, wearing a half helmet requires a bit more work. But it sure does feel nice, and some peeps feel claustrophobic in the full face.