Hello all | GTAMotorcycle.com

Hello all

Er_the_red

Hi all,

I'm new at everything. New to the forum and new rider.
I took my M1 test couple of weeks ago and am in the process of registering to an MSC.
I was planing to take the course using my hiking boots, they cover my ankles and are sturdy enough to protect my feet. Did anybody do that?, what would be your recommendations?

Thanks for your help.

MSC / MSF seem to be used interchangeably depending on the location. Motorcycle safety course / motorcycle safety fundamentals is what they call the M2x in the states it seems.

Most of the M2x courses will let you take the course will minimum gear – they should have a gear section on their website showing their requirements. Generally jeans and textile boots will get you into the course but won’t do much if you drop a bike on your ankle or go for a slide. If you have the intention of riding after your course make a point of finding something MC specific. Statistically your legs/ankles are the most likely injury to receive in a non-fatal crash.

Thank you for your replies. I do plan to get proper gear, I just didn't want to buy the boots without knowing what to look for.

Welcome!

Over the ankle shoes should work for the course as long as they aren't Chelsea boots (with elastics on the side and no laces). At least that was the requirement with RTI. I brought photos of all my gear to the in-class component to get it cleared with the instructors as well, I highly recommend you do the same. Someone was almost sent home on the first day of our course because his jacket wasn't kosher. Luckily someone brought a spare.