Gas mileage problem. | GTAMotorcycle.com

Gas mileage problem.

Cann999

Hi before I decide to take my bike in was wondering if anyone could help me out with this. Well this is my first year riding in T.O. Picked up a stock 2012 Kawasaki ER6N with under 4,000 km last November. Started riding it in March and had oil change/ general checkup done at 4,500 km (still running mineral oil) and bike currently has 5,500km.
So the issue seems to be that I'm getting some pretty bad mileage. When I did oil change I asked them and was told bike is still new will get better with time. I ride pretty much everyday to work about 9 km each way 90% city riding. Since I've been tracking milage lets say last bar is flashing and i put in 9-10 litres Ill get between 110 - 120 km. When I ride I keep revs between 4-5k. This seems like very low mileage even for city riding.

Also instrument panel usually shows around 17-18 km/L average mileage but no way I'm getting that.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you

Sounds like about 2 gallons for 70 ish miles? 120kms in 9km segments. Sounds like a worst case scenerio on a mostly cold engine. Take some long runs. I bet the mileage improves. In magazine test rides the highest and lowest mileage seems to vary greatly per bike.

I'd say Im averaging 8L/100km which seems super low for this bike. Also I dont ride it hard at all. I will try your suggestion and take a long ride this weekend see if it improves.

Mileage can also change greatly if you're doing city riding vs highway riding due to frequent stops and starts. I doubt your bike measures the fuel consumption based on whether your on the highway or not. Also depends on how hard you accelerate...

Based on this site: http://www.fuelly.com/motorcycle/kawasaki/er-6n , on average for the 2012 er6n is around 47mpg which converted is about 20km/l. On average according to this, you should be running at around 5L/100km.

P.S. Hey! I see you on that list with a N/A rating :p

Last edited: