Chain Cleaning -- what kind of gizmos or manual cleaning methods do you employ? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Chain Cleaning -- what kind of gizmos or manual cleaning methods do you employ?

Triple

Site Supporter
I have been riding for too long (1987), and seem to always end-up with chain drive motorcycles. The only exception was a short love affair with an '01 BMW K1200RS, which ended in frustation due to the complicated, frequent, and *expensive* maintenance routine/schedule. Ironically, the shaft drive was the only easy thing to maintain on it!

My method for the past 25 years has been to simply (*and carefully*) wipe the chain down with a gear oil soaked rag as I spin the back tire by hand. Usually every 500 to 750 kilometres (depending on climate conditions), though sometimes I've let them go for over a 1000 kilometres. My chains have never looked too pretty, but have typically lasted me between 15,000 and 40,000 kilometers, so I suppose I'm doing something right.

What are you guys doing/using?

I thought that you have to clean the chain with kerosene.

I have been riding for too long (1987), and seem to always end-up with chain drive motorcycles. The only exception was a short love affair with an '01 BMW K1200RS, which ended in frustation due to the complicated, frequent, and *expensive* maintenance routine/schedule. Ironically, the shaft drive was the only easy thing to maintain on it!

My method for the past 25 years has been to simply (*and carefully*) wipe the chain down with a gear oil soaked rag as I spin the back tire by hand. Usually every 500 to 750 kilometres (depending on climate conditions), though sometimes I've let them go for over a 1000 kilometres. My chains have never looked too pretty, but have typically lasted me between 15,000 and 40,000 kilometers, so I suppose I'm doing something right.

What are you guys doing/using?