Backing out of purchase agreement | GTAMotorcycle.com

Backing out of purchase agreement

dtm252535

So I put a $1000 deposit on a new 2017 r3 at one of the bike shows earlier this year, was a good deal at the time, but now see i can get it for substantially less elsewhere...I know it may be frowned upon, but at the end of the day it’s my money and i don’t intend to pay a dime more than I have to.

For anyone familiar with the process, what are my options for getting out of the current purchase agreement? I haven’t picked the bike up yet or anything.

Thanks!

I wonder if starting by asking for better price from them would be an option? I have no experience in this, but think that may be a logical place to start.
How much cheaper is the bike now elsewhere? If you lose the $1k (not sure if you will) then are you still ahead?

Sent from the purple GTAMotorcycle.com mobile app

You signed a contract, you were happy and so was the seller with the price.

Unless the dealer/seller has a heart of gold(unlikely) you won't be able to get out of the deal without losing your deposit.

The way I see a deposit, is you are paying a portion of something so they will hold it for you, guaranteeing that you will finish the transaction later. If I lay down a deposit, and change my mind, I don't expect to see that money again. Likewise If I'm selling something, and you give me a deposit, I'm telling everybody else that it's sold, and if you change your mind then it sucks to be you, because you cost me possible sales.

I agree with the previous guys, try to work with them, otherwise no, you should not expect to see your deposit again.

Vehicle contacts are notoriously solid agreements. I would try to negotiate the price or get them to throw some gear into the deal.

You signed a contract, you were happy and so was the seller with the price.

Unless the dealer/seller has a heart of gold(unlikely) you won't be able to get out of the deal without losing your deposit.

Wrong.