Water in rad | GTAMotorcycle.com

Water in rad

Fili-mac

Okay stupid question I know... It's my first year running water in my rad, The question is do I need to flush the cooling system and top it up with antifreeze or can I just drain the water and let it sit empty over the winter? I'll be storing it in a non heated space.

Drain water out, add coolant/antifreeze. Even sitting empty, there can still be some un-evaporated water and since the cold is coming up... it can potentially freeze the lines and cause cracks, etc..

Do the little, inexpensive work now or you'll have to do the big expensive repairs later.

If your rad is anything like the one on my bike, there is a whole lower section of the rad that does not drain at all. I would be worried about water freezing in that area.

Okay stupid question I know... It's my first year running water in my rad, The question is do I need to flush the cooling system and top it up with antifreeze or can I just drain the water and let it sit empty over the winter? I'll be storing it in a non heated space.

Did you run any additive in the water? I ask because next summer when you want to run plain water, put a couple capfuls of Water Wetter in there. Water is corrosive, Water Wetter adds some anti-corrosion.

As for the winter, yes, put coolant in it after dumping the water out.

Did you run any additive in the water? I ask because next summer when you want to run plain water, put a couple capfuls of Water Wetter in there. Water is corrosive, Water Wetter adds some anti-corrosion.

As for the winter, yes, put coolant in it after dumping the water out.

Which is why you should be running distilled water not the stuff out of your tap or hose.

I think I knew this answer already, it's just that a lazy friend of mine said why don't you leave it dry... and that got the wheels rolling.

I ran distilled water with Mutol MoCool (couldn't get my hands on any water wetter)