Requirements for Riding Dual Sport Off Road | GTAMotorcycle.com

Requirements for Riding Dual Sport Off Road

KennytehKat

I'm new to this entire thing and I'm looking into getting a dual sport so I can ride on and off road, but I'm not sure what's needed for riding a dual sport off road, do I need a blue plate and a green plate? Or will a blue plate work just fine, and if it's only a blue plate is there anything extra I need to do before riding off road

^This
Most land in ontario is owned by people, so the fantasy of just going wherever is just that, a fantasy

For passes you basically have two options. Ganaraska forest does their own thing and sells yearly membership or day pass. OFTR (Ontario federation of trail riders) has a yearly membership that allows you to ride Simcoe county forest and a couple other areas. I would start with the OFTR website and go from there.

You’re also good on some crown land. Google Crown Land Policy Atlas and see if you can make sense of it. I can’t so I don’t bother.

I used to look around at all the empty land and forests and think to myself, wow if I had a dirt bike or dual sport, I could just go anywhere...

nope designated areas only, I was but a child then

For passes you basically have two options. Ganaraska forest does their own thing and sells yearly membership or day pass. OFTR (Ontario federation of trail riders) has a yearly membership that allows you to ride Simcoe county forest and a couple other areas. I would start with the OFTR website and go from there.

You’re also good on some crown land. Google Crown Land Policy Atlas and see if you can make sense of it. I can’t so I don’t bother.

With OFTR will I be able to ride on those trails with a dual sport that's registered for street riding?

With OFTR will I be able to ride on those trails with a dual sport that's registered for street riding?