Life span of a helmet | GTAMotorcycle.com

Life span of a helmet

Hi all, I'm new to motorcycle and looking to buy some gears. I've heard that there's a life span of 5 years for motorcycle helmets, that you need to replace it because the materials used will degrade over time, is this true? Does it depend on how often you use it? When does the 5 year starts counting? I'm looking at a Scorpion EX 1000 or Shoei RF 1100 helmet thanks

I am still rockin my HJC from 15 years ago! lol Looking at getting a new one today or this week. If I go down, with this thing I would be better off with an egg shell.

Met a guy at the track who showed us a Marushin helmet that was past it's prime. When we told him it was most likely no longer safe, he was pretty surprised.

One time, after showing my Dad my new helmet, he laughed at me for spending so much money on it when I still had a "perfectly good" helmet. Then he went to the closet, got his helmet and proudly told me that it was older than me and still as good as new. :rolleyes:

I have a couple of old helmets around and now the foam has turn into powder that would stick to your head if you put it on...

Yes it does break down. I had an old shoei, probably 10 yrs+ and black dust came out of it when I dug it out. Actually not sure if that was the foam or the liner. Manufacturers state 5 years but in the end its your skull.

what if the helmet has been sitting at the shop for 2 years, is that why they go on sale? so when you buy it'll only have 3 years left? does it says on the box that when the helmet is manufactured?

what if the helmet has been sitting at the shop for 2 years, is that why they go on sale? so when you buy it'll only have 3 years left? does it says on the box that when the helmet is manufactured?

Go directly to the helmet web site i.e shoei, arai to get the correct information. Most helmets will have a sticker indicating the date it was manufactured.