HID vs brighter bulbs | GTAMotorcycle.com

HID vs brighter bulbs

ifiddles

newbie here, so i am unsure of what this means...have an 09 kawasaki vulcan 500 and was thinking of putting in an HID kit...however, kahuna powersports suggested just putting in a brighter bulb...so i started looking online and was overwhelmed with all the options...was on the piaa website and they have 5 different bulbs available for the H4 series...they all show 12V 60/55 watt, but they all have different kelvin ranges for temperature...i'm assuming this means how hot or how much heat the bulbs emits???...i'm also assuming that if you go past a certain range, you run the risk of melting the headlamp cover...am i correct in this assumption and if so, how do i know what the maximum kelvin i can go?

p.s...i was looking at the posts on the HID kits from zaris cycle and their kijiji ads states their bulbs go as high as 8000K...

for HID try and stay with in the 4500-6000k range anymore and the light goes from white/blue- blueish up to purple. Unles you are going to do a complete retro fit in your headlight the Vulcan will not have a focused light beam and will spray everywhere annoying other drivers. just my 2 cents

i'm also assuming that if you go past a certain range, you run the risk of melting the headlamp cover...am i correct in this assumption and if so, how do i know what the maximum kelvin i can go?

p.s...i was looking at the posts on the HID kits from zaris cycle and their kijiji ads states their bulbs go as high as 8000K...
The K temperature refers to the "temperature" of the light output and is more a reference to colour tint than it is to the heat put out by the bulb. The best usable light output will come from 4300K bulbs. A 6000K bulb will have a slight blue tinge and will put out slightly less usable light, but is still quite usable.