Fork oil type in race forks with Ohlins cartridges | GTAMotorcycle.com

Fork oil type in race forks with Ohlins cartridges

Rossi86

Site Supporter
What type of oil is recommended for race forks with Ohlins cartridges for a GSXR1000? The Ohlins manual I have recommends Ohlins oil part #01309-01, which is 7.5W. Is this the proper viscosity for racing applications?

I have no first hand experience with that combination but, do your forks have adjustments for compression and rebound dampening?
If you find you are needing to adjust the dampening adjusters to the maximum in one direction, that would imply you could benefit from altering the fork oil weight. If the adjusters are closer to the mid range of their adjustment you are probably right on with what you are riding now.

Comparative Oil Weights Table Buying the right oil for your bike is very important as it can effect performance and the amount of wear-and-tear your bike receives. So what oil should you use in your suspension? Most suspension units use approximately a 5Wt (SAE). But, due to the international SAE standard being so loose, one oil company's 5Wt can be the same viscosity as another's 7.5Wt. Here's a really nerdy table that uses the much tighter Centistoke (Cst) testing scale, so we can compare brands with accuracy.Download the chart from here https://www.bikehub.co.za/index.php?app=core&module=attach&section=attach&attach_id=280564

So Ohlins 1309 has a Cst of 19 so in the chart find brands with a simmilar number of 19

Example: Bel-Ray HVI 5wt Shock Oil 19.5
Motul Factory Line - light Fork Oil 18
Maxima Racing Shock Fluid - Medium Shock Oil 20.8

Last edited: