UPDATE: Engine bolt extraction. | GTAMotorcycle.com

UPDATE: Engine bolt extraction.

bravot4

Hey everyone. Does anyone know of any machine shop or any place that can perform a bolt extraction? My engine bolt from my frame slider snapped off and now needs to be extracted. Thanks in advance.engine bolt.jpg

Spray some penetrating oil into the hole. Use a punch to indent a starter spot in the center, drill a pilot hole, tap in the extractor. Twist out.

Spray some penetrating oil into the hole. Use a punch to indent a starter spot in the center, drill a pilot hole, tap in the extractor. Twist out.
Thanks for the advice but I have no experience in these type of situation. The only thing I do on my own to this bike is the oil change. I am looking for anybody or place that have the equipment/tools with experience to perform this task. I've been told by the dealership that I bought this bike from that they don't want to touch it and that this task can go south real quick and I would need a new engine which they said would cost $8000.00!!!!

If you drill it,i would suggest a left hand drill bit.It might just spin out nicely.

a new engine is a little extreme
but yeah, if the drill bit wandered off centre
and started into the engine casing you'd be in a pickle

with good lighting
good patience
and good tooling
this is fairly simple

edit:

if it's a slider bolt
it's probably been loctited in

a welder can get this out easy
short piece of pipe with OD the same as the frame hole ID
butts up against the stub of the bolt and is welded to it
the heat will break the loctite and then use a pipe wrench to turn the whole works out
that is your best bet

and this is the downside of frame sliders

Last edited:
a new engine is a little extreme
but yeah, if the drill bit wandered off centre
and started into the engine casing you'd be in a pickle

with good lighting
good patience
and good tooling
this is fairly simple