Resources for off-road riding in Ontario? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Resources for off-road riding in Ontario?

Jampy00

Site Supporter
As I'm still in the process of switch over to an ADV motorcycle, I figured I'd start to build my knowledge up on how, where, when you can ride off road in Ontario.
I want to ensure I comply with all local laws etc. so thought it best to ask those that already have some experience in this category.

Just to be clear I have no experience off road and my bike is equipped with 80/20 tires which I have no plans to change until required.
Looking mainly for "light" off road use to start. Think a gravel road, plus a few hilly bumps and gentle turns, I have no plans to be "extreme".. lol

I'll start my google search as well and hopefully we'll meet somewhere in the middle..

I like wandering in mulmur. Not many exceptional roads worth a specific mention but lots of windy gravel roads with lots of elevation. Between the fun roads, the views are nice (if you don't mind wind turbines). Similarly, around terra cotta there is some nice exploring. If you want to get more adventurous, unmaintained road allowances are a step up (and no pass required). They can quickly get more adventurous than you want though. Quite a few locations are a steep slippery downhill into a bog. Not easy to turn a big pig around and they aren't happy in the mud.

Which tires does it come with? Tourance? My experience with them was at pace, on gravel roads you got a wandering feeling (like an expanded metal bridge). Not confidence inspiring but they never did anything sudden or unexpected.

Most proper "trails" will require a pass from the local trail authority (SCORRA, GRCA, etc).

Who you callin' a "Big Pig" :ROFLMAO:
Thanks for the information. As for tires OEM are Michelin Scorcher's
This is why I stated "light" off road
michelinoem.jpg

There might be some useful information on Gravel Travel Canada - Home