Near death crash.... should I ride again? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Near death crash.... should I ride again?

Zivo

Hey guys, its been a while since i've posted on here (even then I really lurked). It's nearing winter so ill be lucky if I get a reply or two. So to start, i'd like to share my experience with a near death experience, and have some of you guys chime in on what you think is in my best interest. For some background I'm 18 years old, my dad has been riding for 30 years on a variety of sportbikes with no severe accidents, riding on the back of his MT-01 is what inspired me to get a bike of my own. :rolleyes:

So, about 3 months ago I was riding my Ninja 250 (I started riding the beginning of April after my training course), I was on my way to a buddy's house on a late summer night when I decided to take a detour on a corner I knew from my downhill skateboarding days. As I entered the corner around 60kmph I hit a big piece of gravel (almost a small rock) and my front wheel hopped off the ground. Next thing I know i'm headed off the road into a ditch only to meet my front tire with a driveway wall. Somehow I managed to stay conscious enough to dial 911. I was in the hospital for two weeks with a broken leg, removed spleen, and some repaired intestinal damage. I'm happy to say that I've made a somewhat full recovery in those 3 months.

While I was in the hospital I debated the lifestyle that I had habituated myself with for the past 5 years, being addicted to everything fast, I used to race longboards (skateboards) all over North America at speeds up to 110kmph. I've had crashes here and there, hit my head pretty bad a few times, but not much has deterred me from getting back on the horse.

Even though it was my first season, I still feeling like motorcycles are very dear to my heart, and its something I don't want to give up. But with friends and family insisting I quit i'm almost torn between the two.