Is it too late in the season to restart? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Is it too late in the season to restart?

Vanessa

Hello.

I began my motorcycling journey but due to ankle injuries and then COVID, my M2 expired.

Do I need to start from scratch, even though I have been a driver for more than 40 years.? I thought so but I have heard rumblings that I may not. (Some post covid extension...)

Trying to get the information from MTO has been daunting.

Thanks.
V

Better late than never. :)
But, you'll most likely be starting over.

Iirc, you may be able to skip the 60 day waiting period before M2. I would plan on written m1 and course again.

Last edited:
I have the perfect bike for you to buy if you do..🤗

Oh, and it's never too late to restart. 🏍

Reactions: TK4
If you're planning on taking a course, you'd best be calling places sooner rather than later.

I'm not sure if post covid extensions are still applicable, but if it were not then you're probably looking at starting from M1 iirc irrespective of how many years of experience you got. If you have access to an insured bike, you can do M1X (M2) at a drive test instead of an institute but for insurance purposes it's always better to go through an institute. Good luck!

A license expired within the past 3 years doesn't have to wait the mandatory minimum time.

To clarify, if you had an M2 that expired under 3 years ago, you can do M1, M2, then M without delay.

Over 3 years since? You're waiting minimum 60 days (for m2), then 18/22 months for M (depending if you do the course).

You can skip the waiting periods if it expires, but you have a limited time to do so.