Riding the twisties after attending race school | GTAMotorcycle.com

Riding the twisties after attending race school

sid_for_speed

Can I reasonably assume my riding experience on the street will be much more fun after attending a race course? I plan on doing some trips to the states and far east in search of some nice twisty roads and am wondering if taking a race course is worth it. I can ride on the street and control the bike pretty well. But I hear that seat time riding the 401 is not enough for those kinda roads.

Brian is correct. Skill investment is probably the best investment you can make. You will own many bikes, but skill will stay with you forever, track or street. Two old adages come to mind:

1.) You'll learn more in one day at the track than you will a year on the street
2.) "but I've been riding for 20 years". No, you've been riding for 1 year, 20 times.

Both FAST and Racer 5 are excellent. You get a bit more track time with racer5 for your money though. It's a ton of fun and quite addictive!

As far as going to the fun roads in the US, there are some fantastic ones. Views, mountains, food, roads etc. The dragon is a popular spot, as well as PA and WV. We've been going with a group for about 10 years now to deals gap, and we've seen everything. Some of it good, lots of it ugly. The lack of skill and awareness down there is downright impressive. Some advice to those thinking of going:

- For us, we will only take track riders or extremely experienced street riders. Mistakes down there can be very costly. It's not a place for inexperienced riders.
- You need to ride with your head, but have the training to react quickly if there is an unexpected event. The corners are often blind
- You are not riding the racing line. You are riding the line that gives you the furthest view ahead. Often this means squaring off blind corners.
- Leave enough margin for the unexpected, 7/10 is more than enough.