2003 CBR600RR Chain and Sprockets!!! | GTAMotorcycle.com

2003 CBR600RR Chain and Sprockets!!!

Avanobi

Hello there! i'm newbie here and I have a question about Chain and Sprockets. Its winter on the way and time to do some maintenance and fixing everything. So I read a little bit about 520 chain conversion with -1 +2. My question is what brand do you suggest? I don't need crazy expensive kit, just good for price and quality. Also working in the shop, so I want to do it by myself.

Hello there! i'm newbie here and I have a question about Chain and Sprockets. Its winter on the way and time to do some maintenance and fixing everything. So I read a little bit about 520 chain conversion with -1 +2. My question is what brand do you suggest? I don't need crazy expensive kit, just good for price and quality. Also working in the shop, so I want to do it by myself.

I think it would be crazy to buy something like that as a kit unless it saves you some coin over buying the 3 parts independently.
Are you asking what brand of chain is best?
That's probably like asking what brand of engine oil is best, you're going to get a lot of brand loyalty opinions and very little solid evidence that there is a bad one.
And why on earth do you want to gear down your sportbike?

Do the chain and sprockets need replacement as a matter of regular maintenance ?
If not, why bother ?
A 520 chain is narrower than the 530 it came with, do you need the tire clearance ?
If not why bother ?
As Avanobi has related to, is there a reason for altering the overall gear ratio ?
If not, why bother ?
Do you have the necessary chain breaking and riveting tools, do you want to add to your expense ?
If not, why bother ?
Its a 15 year old bike, ride it, have fun with it and replace what's worn out or broken (IMHO)....